EGGS… ‘Tis the Season!

I received an email this morning from one of my favorite cousins.  She lives on a horse farm in Hungary where they make wine, grow their vegetables and probably have a few hens…

Her email roughly translated: “Hi there Catherine, it is egg season. Hens start laying eggs in the spring!

A city girl like me, even a seasonal, loca-vore chef girl like me, doesn’t really think about “egg season”… Do you?

I mean sure, if you think about it, Easter is all about eggs. The good chocolate kind or the painted kind.
I guess the theme started with eggs being in season… I think I am having an Oprah Ah-Ha moment!

So, my sweet cousin, here you are: a seasonal super fast recipe with fresh eggs that goes wonderfully well with asparagus or artichokes, also in season of course.

“Maionese Finta”

2 farm fresh eggs
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup parsley leaves
1 tsp pink peppercorn
1 tbsp capers in vinegar
1 tsp cider vinegar

Cook the eggs so that they are just past soft-boiled but not yet hard-boiled: about 4.5 minutes.
(If you over cook the eggs, you can fix it by adding 1 more raw egg yolk)


In a food processor, add all the ingredients and pulse until you have a creamy “mayo” like sauce.
No really, it is that easy!

And there it is. The pink peppercorn adds a little aromatic kick. And for my Hungarian followers: yes you can use Paprika instead but if you find pink peppercorn, it just has a little something extra.

Happy Egg Season!

Catherine@SainteCatherine

3 Comments Add yours

  1. micbalda says:

    very nice… Can I use it in the menu?🙂

    1. Of course! I used it at Locanda with steamed artichokes.. hehehe

  2. Elisabeth says:

    Love it! Thanks Cate and Kato!

Leave a Reply

