Italian style Saffron Gougères

As soon as I wrote the title, I realized I would be in trouble with my French friends. Gougère is in fact a delicious little French cheezy puff and it is made one way and one way only. But since I was inspired from the original recipe to create my own, I felt it was only fair to keep the name. Though as you will see, I have made many modifications including OH NO!!! using olive oil instead of butter… Sacrilège!

I will be brave and divulge this recipe as it turned out absolutely delicious and addictive!

Oh and yes… it has been 2 years since my last confession… oh sorry, since my last posting. Apologies. I hope to be better but I am also collaborating with two other food blogs focusing on healthy eating and smart food that actually works to fuel your body with the proper energy and nutrition. Don’t worry, I still focus on delicious and simple.

These little guys are so easy to make I will get right to it (and since I am in a healthy mood, I have added turmeric and black pepper to make them a super food).

 

INGREDIENTS:

(yields about 30 balls)

  • 150 gr. organic Kamut flour
  • 250 ml. water
  • 75 ml. X.V. Olive oil
  • 140 gr. Aged Italian goat cheese (or your favorite, parmigiano is ok but a bit strong and avoid roman pecorino, way too salty and strong)
  • 4 Organic free-range eggs (if you are in Europe #0)
  • 1 teaspoon of Turmeric
  • A pinch of saffron threads grounded down with a few grains of rock salt or a teaspoon of ground saffron
  • freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 180° C (about 356° F)

In a sauce pan, bring the water and oil to a boil and remove from heat.

Add the flour all at once and stir with a wodden spoon, heat on low heat until it is smooth and no longer sticks to the pot.

Let the mixture cool.

Add one egg at a time and stir to incorporate. It will feel like it does not mix but keep at it, it will incorporate.

Add the saffron, turmeric, black pepper  and cheese and stir to incorporate.

Flour your hands and form little balls about the size of a walnut, place them on your oven pan lined with parchment paper.

Bake for 25 minutes (checking on them after 20 as each oven is different)

Enjoy and serve to all your French friends!😉

If you want to see the blogs I colaborate in:

http://www.tastefromabruzzo.com

http://www.counselinglaquila.com/

IMG_3873

Leave a Reply

