Heart Healthy, anti This and anti That… did someone say “Banana Bread”?

As far as I can remember, I have been obsessed with Bananas. So much so that as a kid, for my birthday, people would give me banana scented everything… pencils, shampoo, scratch-and-smell gadgets, you name it, if it came in “banana”, someone bought it for me. So I have no idea why I never made banana bread before.

I have been off sugar and refined flour since June 1st so baking has not really been on my mind. This morning however, I had a few overly ripe bananas that I just did not want to throw away. I have been talking about slowly adding back whole wheat flour to my diet, I started to search for a sugar-free banana bread recipe and stumbled upon one, that was not only sugar-free, it used oil instead of butter… perfect! Of course since I now study Naturopathy, I am learning all I can on “nutri-therapy“, the idea to use food as medicine. I wanted my banana bread not to just be “healthier” but to actually be GOOD for you. This particular mix of ingredient supports Heart health, is anti-inflamatory, helps digestion fights IBS, is anti-tumoral and did I mention? DELICIOUS!

WARM SPICES BANANA BREAD

So here are a few facts on why this bread is so good for you. The secret is in the spices… and more.

Cinnamon, Turmeric, Nutmeg, cardamom and Coriander seeds all have very powerful medicinal qualities and have been used for thousands of years. These are  anti-inflammatory, packed with anti-oxidants, they regulate blood sugar, reduce the risk of heart disease, help fight IBS, help reduce the risk of many types of tumors, help digestion, are detoxifying and a mood booster… just to name a few qualities. Bananas, as we all know, are rich in potassium and magnesium. Also rich in vitamin B-6 and C,  they promote heart health, memory and good mood. Walnuts also take good care of your happy mood, heart health, blood sugar levels and brain function. Goji berries are rich in fiber, vitamin C, iron and vitamin A. Finally, Saragolla flour (very similar in structure as Kamut), has 20-40% more protein than regular wheat and is lower in gluten (but not gluten-free) + vitamins C &

I could go on forever and talk about pink salt, honey, eggs – but just trust me. It’s all in there and it is really healthy.

300 grams Saragolla (whole hard wheat or whole Kamut) – about 1 and a shallow 1/4 cup
125 ml Extra Virgin Olive Oil – 1/2 cup
60 ml raw honey – 1/4 cup
2 organic eggs
1/2 tsp pink Himalayan salt
1 tsp vanilla extract or powder
2-3 tsp cake yeast or 2 of baking soda
3 medium or 2.5 large very ripe bananas (since we do not add sugar, please make sure the bananas are super sweet)
1/2 cup total of chopped walnuts and goji berries
1 tbsp of mix warming spices: Cinnamon, Turmeric, Nutmeg, cardamom, Coriander seeds and ground wild black pepper (to boost the power of the Tumeric)
80 ml of water – 1/3 cup
banana ingredients

Pre-heat the over to 165C or 325F

Mix the eggs and honey and beat for a minute or 2 to fluff.
Mash the bananas with a fork and add to it the water and olive oil and mix well.
Add the banana mixture to the eggs and mix some more. Now slowly add all other ingredients. Add the walnuts and berries last.

banana_bread_mixture

Greased plum-cake pan or similar  and let the mixture stand for about half an hour to allow the yeast to activate.

Bake for 45-55 minutes depending on your oven. Test your cake with a toothpick (should come up dry)

banana_bread_cooked

Now as healthy as this cake is… it is not low in calories so please enjoy just a few slices in the morning to give yourself a nice health and mood boost to get you through your day.

For the delicious original recipe that sparked mine, go to cookieandkate who says she originally based hers on a recipe she found here: all recipes

Live happy.

C.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

